Spanish Basics

downloadBienvenida a español! – Welcome to Spanish!

The Duolingo app is going to be our teacher for as practicable as possible. Obviously, any bits & pieces acquired from elsewhere will be thrown in where relevant. Divertirse! – Enjoy!

BASICS

Hola – Hello

Buenos dias – good morning

Buenas noches – good night

el (masculine) – the

la (feminine) – the

el niña – the girl

una niña – a girl

la mujer – the woman

el niño – the boy

un niño – a boy

el hombre – the man

el pan – the bread

el agua – the water

la manzana – the apple

la arroz – the rice

es – is

Yo soy un niño – I am a boy

Yo soy un hombre – I am a man

Yo soy una mujer – I am a woman

Yo soy una niña – I am a girl

Verb Conjugation

In Spanish, verb endings change to describe who is doing the action and when. E.g. I eat is yo como and you eat is tú comes. Because of this, you can just say como arroz (I eat rice) instead of yo como arroz.

La mujer come –  the woman eats

Ella comes arroz – she eats rice

El versus Él

The words él and el sound the same but they mean different things. Él means he or him, whereas el means the.

Él come – he eats

Él es un hombre – he is a man

Élla es una niña – she is a girl

Usted – the formal you

Usted is the formal version of you, used with strangers. E.g. you are a boy is usted es un niño (formal) and tú eres un niño (informal).

Tú eres un hombre – you are a man (informal)

Usted es un hombre – you are a man (formal)

Eres – are

Tú eres una mujer – you are a woman

Él come – he eats

Tú – you

Ella come – she eats

comes – eat

la leche – the milk

Tú comes – you eat

Bebo – drink

Yo bebo – I drink

Tú bebes – you drink

Él bebe – he drinks

Una mujer bebe agua – the woman drinks water

Tú bebes el agua – you drink the water

Yo como – I eat

Yo como una manzana – I eat an apple

Tú comes una manzana – you eat an apple

Tú bebes – you drink

COMMON PHRASES

Gracias – thank you

Adiós – bye

Hola – hello

Buenos dias – Good morning

Buenas noches – good night

Adiós, buenas noches – bye, good night

Perdón – I am sorry

Si – yes

Si, yo soy un hombre – yes, I am a man

Por favor – please

No, gracias – no, thanks

Siento – I (feel)

Lo siento – I am sorry

Yo no soy una niña – I am not a girl

Si, él es un niño – yes, he is a boy

Yo no bebo – I do not drink

Gusto – like

Ella no es una niña, ella es una mujer – she is not a girl, she is a woman

Yo hablo –  I speak

Disculpe – excuse me

Sí, disculpe – yes, excuse me

Yo no hablo inglés – I do not speak English

Hablas tú inglės? – Do you speak English?

Nada – nothing

Hablas – (you) speak

Tú no hablas español – you do not speak Spanish

Disculpe, lo siento – excuse me, I am sorry

No disculpe – no, excuse me

Tú hablas – you talk

Sí, yo hablo español – yes, I speak Spanish

Adios, disculpe – goodbye, excuse me

Yo no hablo espanôl, yo hablo inglés – I do not speak Spanish, I speak English

De nada – you are welcome

Mucho gusto – nice to meet you

No, por favor – no, please

Sí, yo lo siento – yes, I am sorry

Ustedes – you (plural)

Ustedes son hombres – you are men

Ustedes son mujeres – you are women

Somos hombres – we are men

Nosotros – we (masculine)

Nosotras –  we (feminine)

Nosotras somos mujeres – we are women

Nosotras bebemos agua – we drink water (feminine)

Nosotros somos hombres – we are men (masculine)

Nosotros bebemos agua – we drink water (masculine)

Nosotras bebemos leche – we drink milk (feminine)

Nosotros bebemos el agua – we drink the water (masculine)

Ustedes son hombres – you are men

Nosotras somos mujeres – we are women

Nosotros bebemos – we drink (masculine)

Ellos – they (masculine)

Ellas – they (feminine)

Ellas son mujeres – they are women

Los hombres – the men

Ustedes beben – you drink

Nosotras somos niñas – we are girls

Las mujeres – the women

Los niños – the boys

Las niñas beben agua – the girls drink water

Ellos beben agua – they drink water (feminine)

Nosotros somos niños – we are children

Ellos son hombres – they are men

Ellas beben leche – they drink milk

el vino – the wine

el diario – the newspaper

el libro – the book

el carta – the letter

Él escribe un libro – he writes a book

Nosotras escribimos un libro – we write a book

Yo escribo – I write

Tú escribes un libro – you write a book

Nosotros bebemos vino – we drink wine (masculine)

escribimos – write

Ellas beben vino – they drink wine (feminine)

Tú lees – they read

Ellos escriben un carta – they write a letter

Las niñas escriben – the girls write

Yo soy una persona – I am a person (feminine)

Leo – read

Yo leo – I read

Yo leo el diario – I read the newspaper

Usted lee – you read

Ellas leen – they read (feminine)

Nosotras leemos el diario – we read the newspaper (feminine)

Ellos leen un libro – they read a book (masculine)

Ellas escriben – they write (feminine)

Ella e una persona – she is a person

Tú lees – you read

Somos – we are / we’re

Somos mujeres – we’re women

Nosotros somos hombres – we are men

Nosotros bebemos la leche – we drink the milk (masculine)

Nosotras bebemos la leche – we drink the milk (feminine)

Ellas son mujeres – they are women

Ustedes son niños – you are all boys

One thought on “Spanish Basics

Comments?

